I’m a little bit obsessed with Weaver Green: One Green Summer #5

weaver-green-gallery-2017-11_large

Ever since spying a catalogue, I knew I loved the look of Weaver Green textiles, particularly their rugs and blankets. They give that wonderfully effortless textured look, with inspiration from around the world, including Turkey, Morocco, France. I can’t help but think of summer picnics and beach trips, but they work just as well for snuggles by the winter fire.

When I discovered that Weaver Green textiles are made entirely from recycled water bottles, I was keen to give them a try. Rugs can have up to 3,000 bottles in them, whilst the blankets are made of 300 bottles.

Nelly from Weaver Green explained to me that, “We source approximately 70% of our recycled plastic bottles from land origins (saving it from being put into landfill), and about 30% from waterways and ocean borne sources.”

Whilst some of these bottles might have been recycled anyway, it is often into disposable products that then need further recycling – and this cannot go on – most water bottles can only be recycled once or twice. When made into these rugs, you have a durable, lasting heirloom item that can be passed through the generations.

I was worried that whilst they look great, and have fab ethics, that the feel of them would put me off. I needn’t have worried, the rug is impossible to tell apart from a woollen weave and the hammam throw is soft cotton.

They even passed the daughter test – she’s very sensitive; I never buy a thing without checking the inside seams, snipping off labels and  then washing with fabric conditioner. She also prefers to snuggle under a blanket in the nude, free from the discomfort of clothes. She loves the soft feel of the hammam throw – there is nothing itchy or scratchy at all.

Dove_Grey_Hammam_Throw_cut_out_03f8ef3b-1749-4eb5-9b64-b64df8ffea2c_large

The Hammam throw in Dove Grey, £45

The rugs and blankets are perfect for family life. So many times, I’ve bought something beautiful only to have it ruined by someone puking on it or spilling juice, and they often can’t be washed or stain eaily. These items can be machine washed, even the rugs, and they are resistant to muddy boots, red wine stains, moth attacks and pet paws. They work well as inside/outside options.

Packaging wise, they were A*. Not a scrap of plastic – it was all sturdy brown paper.

20180710_101241_resized

The cat approving of the sturdy brown paper packaging

It really is credit to this brand, that despite being send three of its products for free to review, I have asked my mother-in-law to buy me the gorgeous diamond weave blanket for my birthday. I rather have my eye on these cushions too…

Cornflower_Kalkan_Cushion_40cm_x_60cm_cut_out_4c6724c2-3dd8-43fd-a10c-62d15f9493c9_large (1)

ON THE WISH LIST!

In fact, I want to fill my house with the stuff. And my garden. I’m a little bit obsessed.

To see the Weaver Green range, have a look here: www.weavergreen.com

I was sent these products for free in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment